New Congressional District Farm Bill Fact Sheets: CalFresh and Children


New Release Paper icon

CalFresh keeps millions of California's children out of poverty, and puts food on their plates. With the President's draconian budget proposing to cut program funding by over 30 percent, we call on California's congressional delegation to come to our children's defense, by protecting and strengthening CalFresh. We must fight back against any benefit cuts, eligibility restrictions or structural changes to CalFresh, which would worsen hunger and poverty for millions of children and their families.

Our children are the future of California and the nation. And yet, despite growing up in this land of abundance of opportunity, one in five California children live in poverty, and one in five children across our state struggle with hunger. Noun Abdelaziz, a member of the Youth Advisory Council--a youth-driven advocacy program at the Center for Community Health, University of California at San Diego, puts it best here. Indeed, hunger is an issue of justice--our children deserve it, and our children are fighting for it. We must join them in this fight — and it starts with sharing critical information with your representatives.

District 1 – Rep. Doug LaMalfa (R) District 2 – Rep. Jared Huffman (D) District 3 – Rep. John Garamendi (D)                
District 4 – Rep. Tom McClintock (R)                 District 5 – Rep. Mike Thompson (D)                 District 6 – Rep. Doris O. Matsui (D)                
District 7 – Rep. Ami Bera (D)                 District 8 – Rep. Paul Cook (R)                 District 9 – Rep. Jerry McNerney (D)                
District 10 – Rep. Josh Harder (D)                 District 11 – Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D)                 District 12 – Rep. Nancy Pelosi (D)                
District 13 – Rep. Barbara Lee (D)                 District 14 – Rep. Jackie Speier (D)                 District 15 – Rep. Eric Swalwell (D)                
District 16 – Rep. Jim Costa (D)                 District 17 – Rep. Ro Khanna (D)                 District 18 – Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (D)                
District 19 – Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D)                 District 20 – Rep. Jimmy Panetta (D)                 District 21 – Rep. TJ Cox (D)                
District 22 – Rep. Devin Nunes (R)                 District 23 – Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R)                 District 24 – Rep. Salud Carbajal (D)                
District 25 – Rep. Katie Hill (D)                 District 26 – Rep. Julia Brownley (D)                 District 27 – Rep. Judy Chu (D)                
District 28 – Rep. Adam Schiff (D)                 District 29 – Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D)                 District 30 – Rep. Brad Sherman (D)                
District 31 – Rep. Pete Aguilar (D)                 District 32 – Rep. Grace Napolitano (D)                 District 33 – Rep. Ted Lieu (D)                
District 34 – Rep. Jimmy Gomez (D)                 District 35 – Rep. Norma Torres (D)                 District 36 – Rep. Raul Ruiz (D)                
District 37 – Rep. Karen Bass (D)                 District 38 – Rep. Linda Sánchez (D)                 District 39 – Rep. Gilbert Cisneros (R)                
District 40 – Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D)                 District 41 – Rep. Mark Takano (D)                 District 42 – Rep. Ken Calvert (R)                
District 43 – Rep. Maxine Waters (D)                 District 44 – Rep. Nanette Barragán (D)                 District 45 – Rep. Katie Porter (D)                
District 46 – Rep. J. Louis Correa (D)                 District 47 – Rep. Alan Lowenthal (D)                 District 48 – Rep. Harley Rouda (D)                
District 49 – Rep. Mike Levin (D)                 District 50 – Rep. Duncan D. Hunter (R)                 District 51 – Rep. Juan Vargas (D)                
District 52 – Rep. Scott Peters (D)                 District 53 – Rep. Susan Davis (D)                
Questions? Contact Jared Call at or 213.482.8200 ext. 201

For questions on child farm bill fact sheet data and references, refer to our technical appendix or contact Kevin Lee at or 213.482.8200 ext. 202